Donate to EES

Thank you for your interest in donating to the Earth & Environmental Science Department. We greatly appreciate your support! Listed below are descriptions for the various funds to which you can choose to donate.

E&ES General Alumni Fund

The E&ES General Fund is used for a variety of activities that the department could not otherwise support. For example, the General Fund has been used to support student travel to various meetings and field trips (i.e. NMGS Field Conference, GSA Annual Meeting), annual department social events, and purchasing student field/lab supplies. If you have any suggestions for other ways to use alumni donations, please feel free to email or call Peter Mozley (, 575-835-5311) with your suggestions.

Dr. Allan R. Sanford Memorial Endowed Fellowship

This Fellowship was established in memory of Dr. Al Sanford, a Professor of Geophysics at New Mexico Tech from 1957-1997. The Fellowship is awarded to a full time Geophysics student (undergraduate or graduate) in the Earth and Environmental Science Department.

Dave Norman Endowment

The Dave Norman Endowment was established as an endowed fund in honor of the late David I. Norman, who was a Professor of Economic Geology at New Mexico Tech for 30 years. This fund is used for faculty and student expenses to promote the study of economic geology at New Mexico Tech.

Don Yardley Fellowship

Mike Fitzgerald established an endowed fellowship in the name of Donald Yardley to help students interested in ore deposits and, in particular, to encourage them to get a well-rounded, practical ore deposits education. As a result of this donation, a master’s option in ore genesis and exploration was developed. This fund is used to support a first-year graduate student’s expenses in economic and exploration ore studies.

Robert and Christina Lochman Balk Fellowship

The Robert and Christina Lochman Balk Fellowship is used for the benefit of NMT graduate students in the field(s) of sedimentation, stratigraphy, and/or paleontology. The award provides financial support for graduate students pursing M.S. and PhD. degrees in the department. The successful applicant will have a strong academic record and will be interested in pursuing research in the above fields.

Barkley Wycoff Memorial Scholarship

The Barkley Wycoff Memorial Scholarship is given to students who have made contributions to Economic Geology. The recipient must be studying ore deposits, mineral exploration, or mineral economics. One recipient will receive $500 (sometimes two recipients will split the $500 award).

Anton and Anita Budding Graduate Research Award

The Anton and Anita Budding Graduate Research Award is used for E&ES graduate students: (a) carrying out field investigations in geology, geochemistry, geophysics, or hydrology; (b) travel expenses to scientific meetings or to scientific centers for using equipment not available at New Mexico Tech; (c) acquisition or fabrication of special equipment or reference material unavailable at Tech; (d) hourly charges for the use of equipment available at Tech. The award is not used for tuition and fees or room and board at Tech.

Charles and Eula Park Fellowship

The Charles and Eula Park Fellowship is awarded to E&ES graduate students studying mineral exploration or mineral economics. A total of $3,000 will be awarded to a single student.

Dr. Clay T. & Sallie Smith Student Fund

The Dr. Clay T. and Sallie Smith Student Fund is used to enhance student field experiences for Earth Science students. It recognizes Dr. Smith’s long career in field geology and 35 years as part of the geosciences department at New Mexico Tech.

Jerrald & Cynthia Durtsch Endowed Scholarship

The Jerrald & Cynthia Durtsch Endowed Scholarship is used to provide a student majoring in Earth and Environmental Science, usually in the field of geology or geophysics, financial assistance to help offset the cost of books and/or lab/field trip expenses. Jerrald Durtsch graduated from NMT with a Ph.D. in Geoscience (Geophysics) in 1973.

Rob Bowman Memorial Fund

The Rob Bowman Memorial Fund was established in honor of the late Robert S. Bowman, who was a Professor of Hydrology at New Mexico Tech for 22 years. The fund is used to assist students in hydrology.